Was leif erikson a viking?

He was Norse explorer from Iceland. He was the first known European to have set foot on North America, before Christopher Columbus. He established a Norse settlement at Vinland, tentatively identified with the Norse L'Anse aux Meadows on the northern tip of Newfoundland in modern-day Canada.