What temperature kills germs?

140 degrees Fahrenheit is the ideal temperature to kill bacteria and viruses in laundry. To sanitize water by killing bacteria and pathogens, the water must be boiled at 212 degrees Fahrenheit. Food must be cooked to a temperature of 167 degrees Fahrenheit to kill most bacteria.