Is a strawberry a berry?

Strawberries aren't really berries in the botanical sense. They are derived from a single flower with more than one ovary, making them an aggregate fruit. True berries are simple fruits stemming from one flower with one ovary and typically have several seeds.

---

Strawberries are not really a fruit or a berry, but instead are the enlarged receptacle of the flower.