Why does cheese melt?

When cheese is heated, the calcium glue dissolves, and the casein molecules separate. When an aged cheese like Cheddar melts, these little pieces of casein flow without tangling, and the cheese melts smoothly. Finally, factors like fat content and acidity play a role in how a cheese melts.