What's the difference between cured and uncured salami?

Curing is preservation through salt, acid and sugar to remove water and prevent spoilage. The main differences in cured versus uncured meats is the color, texture, and aroma. Uncured meat uses natural curing agents, such as celery powder, which transforms into nitrite when it is processed.