Does bamboo need sunlight?

Bamboo indeed needs sunlight. As with most plants, bamboo uses sunlight energy for the photosynthesis process needed to grow. Indirect, or reflected sunlight is sufficient, so bamboo can actually still flourish in what appears to be shady conditions.