What's a pacer test?

The Progressive Aerobic Cardiovascular Endurance Run PACER test is a maximal aerobic fitness test where the participants run 15 or 20 meter shuttles at increasing speeds. The time between recorded beeps decrease and the subjects continue until they are unable to keep pace with the beeps.