How are quarters made?

Quarters are made out of an alloy (a mixture of metals) of 91.67 percent copper and 8.33 percent nickel (before 1965, the quarter was made out of silver). The quarter has an edge with 119 ridges. This coin is 24.26 mm in diameter and is 1.75 mm thick.