What's the difference between a gecko and a lizard?

A gecko is a type of lizard including leopard geckos, crested geckos, and various others. Geckos generally have feet that allow them to climb smooth surfaces and eyelids that don't close. However this is not always true; leopard gecko cannot climb smooth surfaces and has closable eyelids.

---

Lizards possess external ears and movable eyelids while Geckos have no eyelids but have a transparent membrane which they lick to clean