What is the most common gas found in earth's atmosphere?

Nitrogen makes up 78% of the gas in the atmosphere by volume.

---

The atmosphere is approximately 78% Nitrogen, 21% Oxygen, with the remainder being made of small amounts of other gases like Argon and Carbon Dioxide.