What is a black thorn fruit?

A blackthorn fruit or sloe (spelled S L O E), is from a species of flowering plant in the rose family Rosaceae. It looks like a blueberry and is used in sloe gins. It has medicinal properties, including helping to cleanse the blood, treat kidney and bladder problems, and aid in digestion.