Who was the first woman to run for vice president?

Marietta Stow was the first American woman to run for vice president in 1884, as the candidate for the National Equal Rights Party. The first woman running for vice president for a major party was Democrat Geraldine Ferraro, in 1984.

---

Geraldine Anne "Gerry" Ferraro, was an American attorney and Democratic Party politician, who served in the United States House of Representatives. In 1984, she was the first female vice presidential candidate representing a major American political party.