How long do you have to boil an egg to make it hard boiled?

This is not a simple answer. For perfect hard boiled eggs. Lower eggs into boiling water and boil for 30 seconds. Cover tightly, reduce heat to low (water should maintain a bare simmer), and continue cooking for 11 minutes. Remove from water and plunge into ice water. Peel and eat, or refrigerate.