Who are the crystal gems?

The Crystal Gems, also referred to as the Rebels, are a group of Gems established by Pink Diamond under the guise of Rose Quartz. Unlike the rest of their kind, they seek to protect Earth instead of exploiting it and are the self-proclaimed guardians of humanity.