Is spilling salt bad luck?

Spilling salt has been believed to bring bad luck since the time of ancient Rome. The remedy is simple: toss a pinch of the spilled salt over your shoulder.

---

Spilling salt is supposedly bad luck because Judas spilt the salt at the last supper. You can undo any bad luck by throwing salt over your left shoulder. That comes from Buddhist tradition, after a funeral, salt is thrown over the left shoulder to prevent evil spirits from entering the house.