Can paper towels go in the microwave?

Yes, unless it has glitter or metallic decorative threads. But plain ordinary paper towels should be used in the microwave to catch any spills or boil-over mess. You can also soften stale bread or rolls by placing them on a moist, not dripping wet, paper towel in the microwave for a few seconds.

---

Yes, however, a wet paper towel will heat up. Make sure you are putting in dry paper towels.