What is a tauntaun from star wars?

Tauntauns are friendly 2 legged native creatures of the planet Hoth, which can survive the extreme cold of the planet. They are used by the rebels like horses, to get around their secret base quicker. They are introduced in Star Wars Episode V, The Empire Strikes Back.