What's the difference between flammable and inflammable?

According to Merriam-Webster, flammable and inflammable are synonyms with the meaning "capable of being easily ignited and of burning quickly." These two words are formed from the Latin word flammare ("to catch fire"), and becomes a verb inflammare ("to cause to catch fire") with the prefix "in".