How was world war one started?

The most immediate cause of WW1 was the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria and his pregnant wife Sophie on June 28th, 1914. This led to Austria-Hungary declaring war on Serbia a month later. Germany than declared war on Russia & France.