Do eggs float or sink when they're bad?

They float as they get old and turn bad.

---

Older eggs float due to the increased air and the reduced liquid content over time.

---

Floats. To test an eggs freshness; place the egg in a bowl of water. If the egg lays on its side or stands up but still touches the bottom, it is still okay to use. Do not use an egg that floats.