Where does electric come from?

Electricity is created by powering the motion of electrons along a path. Most of the power generated for home use is produced through electromagnetic generators. These can be powered by fuel, wind, or even flowing water. The power is carried through wires to your home.

---

Electricity is created in power plants using various forms of energy. In the United States, most electricity is created by burning fossil fuels (coal, natural gas, oil) and then converting the thermal energy into electricity. In Missouri, about 82% of our power comes from coal.