What's the difference between a laptop and a chromebook?

A chrome book is a very pared down operating system with low end specs on a device. Whereas a laptop is often a more robust operating system and can have almost any hardware specification.

---

A Chromebook runs ChromeOS, while a common laptop will run either Windows or Mac. The ChromeOS is limited in the way it allows the user to interact with the system as well as which programs it will allow you to download and use. You can't use all programs you could on a common laptop.

---

The difference between a laptop and a Chromebook is that a Chromebook is a Google brand laptop