What was the third reich?

Third Reich (meaning "Third Empire") was the name for Nazi Germany, with first two Reichs being the Holy Roman Empire (800–1806) and the German Empire (1871–1918). The Nazi regime ended after defeat of Germany by the Allies in May 1945, ending World War II in Europe.