Why did chester leave gunsmoke?

Dennis Weaver first became familiar to television audiences as Matt Dillon's deputy Chester Goode in Gunsmoke from 1955 to 1964. After playing the part for nine years, he moved on to star in his own series, Kentucky Jones.

---

Gunsmoke was the program that gave Dennis Weaver his big break and the only reason he left was that he felt that he would be typecast forever as Chester. After several attempts to establish himself as a leading actor he did finally succeed in the series McCloud.