What is a gibson drink?

The Gibson is a mixed drink made from gin and dry vermouth, garnished with pickled onion.

---

The Martini‘s savory second cousin, the Gibson, uses a pickled cocktail onion in place of the typical briny olive to add an umami undertone to the classic cocktail.