What's the difference between a recorder and a flute?

The most obvious difference is in the playing position or orientation of the instrument: The recorder is held vertically, straight and with both hands in front of the upper body, while the transverse flute is held in an asymmetrical position from the mouth to the right shoulder.

---

A recorder has holes a flute has valves and pads