How do mirrors reflect?

When rays of light coming from an object (your smiling face, for example) strike the smooth surface of a mirror, they bounce back at the same angle. Your eyes see these reflected rays as a mirror image. If a smooth surface absorbs the photons, they can't bounce back and there will be no reflection.