Why do people smoke cigarettes?

People smoke cigarettes because they either want or feel that they need the feeling that Nicotine gives them. Nicotine is the highly addictive ingredient in cigarettes that gives them this feeling. The best way to avoid getting addicted? Say "NO!" to that first cigarette.

---

They say that smoking gives them a pleasurable feeling. Also, one of the primary ingredients of cigarette tobacco is nicotine, which is highly addictive. Like many addictive drugs, nicotine makes a smoker continue to crave cigarettes (nicotine) if they try to stop smoking.