Where are papaya is grown?

Originally from southern Mexico, Central America, and northern South America, the papaya is now cultivated in most tropical countries. In cultivation, it grows rapidly, fruiting within 3 years. It is, however, highly frost sensitive, limiting its production to tropical climates.