Why did kobe bryant changes number?

He's changing his number to 24 because he is the successor to Jordan who wore 23... Lebron will change his number to 25 because he will succeed Kobe, etc.

---

When Kobe was drafted by the Los Angeles Lakers in 1996, 24 was taken and 33 was retired. Bryant chose 8, the sum of the number 143 he wore at Adidas ABCD Camp in high school. Only Kobe knows why he switched to 24 for the 2006-2007 season. Speculation is it was symbolic of him needing to start anew.