Why do dogs like tummy rubs?

Dogs love belly rubs simply because they feel good. Dogs love petting, and belly rubs in particular, because the stroking of hair is linked to social grooming. When your dog rolls over on their back and offers you their belly it's a sign that your dog trusts you, not just a sign of submission.