How many steps are in a scientific method?

Five. According to the Khan Academy, the scientific method has 5 steps: 1. Make an observation. 2. Ask a question. 3. Form a hypothesis, or testable explanation. 4. Make a prediction based on the hypothesis. 5. Test the prediction.