Why don't women have adam's apples?

An Adam's apple is simply a name for the area of the thyroid cartilage that appears more prominent on the front of the neck. It's mostly seen in men following puberty due to more significant growth of the larynx, but it can occur in women, too.

---

An Adam's apple is usually a feature of adult males, because its size in males tends to increase considerably during puberty. Its development is considered a secondary sexual characteristic of males that appears as a result of hormonal activity.