Why do they call it corn beef?

Corned beef is salt-cured beef brisket. The term comes from the treatment of the meat with large-grained rock salt, also called "corns" of salt.

---

The term "Corned" comes from putting meat in a large crock and covering it with large rock-salt kernels of salt that were referred to as "corns of salt" This preserved the meat.