What is second degree murder?

2nd degree murder is where the killer intended to cause serious injury, or, where they intended to cause some injury while knowing there was a serious risk of death. It is also applied when the intent was death but where the defendant can successfully argue provocation or diminished responsibility

---

An unplanned, intentional killing; or A death caused by a reckless disregard for human life