How long does it take for an adult tooth to grow in?

If the tooth is lost at the time in the child’s life when it is generally expected to fall out, the new tooth could appear in as soon as a week to six months. If the tooth is lost due to fracture or decay, this premature loss could mean that it will take longer for the adult tooth to come in.