How do they make lactose free milk?

Regular milk contains the milk sugar lactose, while lactose-free milk does not. Milk producers add lactase, an enzyme that breaks down lactose, to lactose-free milk.

---

Lactose-free milk is made by neutralizing the lactose in regular milk by adding lactase to it.