What day has the shortest amount of daylight?

The summer solstice, which happens on June 21 or 22 each year, has the longest daylight time. It's also the first day of summer. The winter solstice, on December 21 or 22, has the shortest daylight time, and officially kicks off winter. This is only true in the Northern Hemisphere, though.