How do you use a beacon in minecraft?

To activate, place an emerald, diamond, gold bar or iron bar in the slot, choose a power and press the green check mark. You should now be under the effect of your chosen power, and will see swirly effects like when you've drunk a potion and the name of the effection your inventory screen.