Are grandaddy longlegs spiders?

No, but people often mistake a daddy longlegs, also called a harvestman, for a spider. Daddy longlegs are classified as arachnids. Like all arachnids, they do have eight legs and tend to skitter about the way spiders do. In fact, daddy longlegs are more like scorpions than spiders.