Where does iron come from?

Iron makes up about 5% of the Earth's crust and a large part of the its core. Iron also comes from meteorites. Iron is found mainly inside the minerals hematite (Fe2O3) and magnetite (Fe3O4.) Removing iron from these minerals is a reasonably long process involving many large industrial factories.