Why did the boston tea party happen?

The "Boston Tea Party" was a protest against the imposition of a tariff on tea. At the time, British colonists in Americas were forced to buy tea, as ships carrying goods from the colonies could not economically return empty. This meant the tax was mandatory, and the people had no vote to oppose it.