Who invented carving pumpkins?

Ireland and Scotland made Jack’s lanterns by carving scary faces into turnips or potatoes and placing them into windows or near doors to frighten away Stingy Jack and other evil spirits. Immigrants brought this to America. They soon found that pumpkins, make great jack-o’-lantens.