Are eggshells good for compost?

Yes. Adding eggshells to compost will help add calcium to the make up of your final compost. This important nutrient helps plants build cell walls. ... While you don't need to crush eggshells before composting them, doing so will speed up how fast the eggshells break down in the compost.