Who invented the year?

The Babylonians started the first lunar calendar by tracking the moon. The length of a lunar month, from one new moon to the next is 29.5 days. Twelve lunar months are 354 days, 11 days short of a solar year. In 13 21 B C the Egyptian priests notice the error in the calendar and make it 365 days.