Why does your stomach make noises?

When people hear their stomachs make noise, most of what they hear is gas and intestinal motility, the normal movement of the intestines. Another cause of stomach noise is air produced in the intestinal tract, which is most often due to poor absorption of nutrients.

---

When people hear their stomachs make noise, most of what they hear is gas and intestinal motility, the normal movement of the intestines. Even when you're not eating, your gut is moving. Another cause of stomach noise is air produced in the intestinal tract, sometimes dependent on diet.