Can dogs control their tail?

Dogs absolutely can control their tails. Their moods and emotions are shown by how their tails and bodies move. A "wag", depending on the type and other body positions doesn't always mean happy. Wildly exuberant wagging that involves the entire rear end does mean happy!

---

Yes, they can wag at will