What is an olive classified as?

The olive is classified as a fruit. fruit is a seed-bearing structure that develops from the ovary of a flowering plant, whereas vegetables are all other plant parts, such as roots, leaves and stems. ... This includes such botanical fruits as eggplants, bell peppers and tomatoes and yes the olive.