Why is cheese yellow?

All cheese is not yellow, but it's color is due to either added color or from the fermentation process. For example blue cheese ranges in color from light white to dark green.

---

The yellow in cheese comes from beta carotene, which is a fat-soluble yellow pigment and antioxidant found in grass. After a cow chews the grass, beta-carotene dissolves into the animal's fat stores and ends up in fat globules in its milk, which is then used in making cheese.