What is the continental drift theory?

It is the theory continents have moved over geologic time relative to each other, appearing to have "drifted" across the ocean bed. The idea of continental drift has been subsumed by the theory of plate tectonics which explains that the continents move by riding on plates of the Earth's lithosphere.